So, I posted about the IUI a few weeks back....that weekend I ran my first half marathon in Clearwater Beach, Florida. It was amazing. I began training for a full this past fall on a whim. Decided it would be a great idea. Set myself up on a 15 week training program after I saw the Myrtle Beach Marathon inside Runners World Magazine. Erika ran a lot with me which was helpful as I don't ave many friends who are runners at all (although my friend Shannon said she wants to train with me sometime and has now come long with Erika and I, so hopefully that group will grow!) I had a great time training..it was amazing to see my running grow throughout the weeks. I had a little bit of injury to overcome, but I picked two great beach races to give myself a goal...then at the end of January I found out that after 2 years, we were finally having a baby!! Eric was away on business, but I couldn't wait ad had to tell him right away!! Crazy exciting!

The week I found out was the week I was suposed to run 20 miles. I had just come off a half the week before (baby was working hard to settle into his/her new home as I ran across bridges and jostles him/her around!). It was freezing and raining and I decided to run indoors. I was soooo tired (one of the major things that made me test when I did!) Met Erika at the gym and realzied I forgot food and water. Then my mind played games with me. Needless to say I only got through 10. It was tough. I kept up with my training though, and I ran a full marathon during week 8. It was an amazing experience! The beginning and middle involved a lot of running and the end involved a lot of walking. I hit my mental "wall" at about mile 21. I hated it, wanted to stop, and even cried. But I sucked it up and continued on. See mile 26 was incredible. And crossing that finishline nice and strong was a feeling of amazement.  I'm really looking forward to doing a second one not pregnant. Really push my body and see what it can accomplish. I'm so proud of myself!! 

Now, for the baby! So far, everything has been amazing. I have been lucky enough to not have any morning sickness and have really felt quite good! I'm still running!! And I plan to for as long as I can. I really believe it's helped me feel as good as I have so far. Baby Boerger is due October 8, 2012. We can't wait!! 

Heres some pics to sum it all up! 

I had to take multiple tests... just couldn't believe it!

Half marathon complete!

Marathon!!!

Here he/she is!!




Leave a Reply.